Search Articles

Email Sugarman about Your Case

New York Criminal, DWI, Traffic FAQ, Articles and Updates

The penalties for a DWI related conviction are high (WHAT WILL A DWI COST ME?) It is highly recommended that you seek the advice and counsel of an attorney so you may be adequately informed of your rights and responsibilities.


Continue Reading...

New York now requires drivers who are convicted of specific offenses to pay an assessment fee to the DMV. The program applies to all drivers who operate, or operated, a motor vehicle in the state of New York.

First note, the driver assessment fee is in addition to any fines, fees, penalties or surcharges that you may pay for a traffic conviction.


Continue Reading...

Besides the economic costs and the loss of driving privileges there are other costs associated with a DWI conviction. They can include:


Continue Reading...

DWI’s are expensive. The best advice I can give is don’t get one. But if you do, here are some of the costs you can expect:


Continue Reading...

Not in all cases. Depending of the facts of your case, your attorney may be able to negotiate with the district attorney and have your misdemeanor level DWI charge reduced to the violation level offense of DWAI, Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol.


Continue Reading...

If a driver is found to have a BAC of .18 or higher the charge will be Aggravated DWI. This enhanced charge requires the defendant to plea to a misdemeanor level offense, unless a reason for a reduction of the charge to a violation is put on the record by the court and the District Attorney.


Continue Reading...

Yes, New York State requires the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for any driver who is convicted of a misdemeanor or felony DWI offense.


Continue Reading...

Leandra’s law is a new law named after a Leandra Rosado, who was an eleven year old girl who was killed in 2009 when the driver of the car she was a passenger in, a family friend who was intoxicated, flipped the car on the Henry Hudson Parkway in New York City.


Continue Reading...

For a first time DWAI conviction: A driver convicted of a first time DWAI in New York State, a violation, will face a mandatory 90 suspension of the driver’s license, a jail sentence of up to 15 days and a fine ranging from $300 to $500. These penalties are enhanced for every subsequent DWAI conviction.


Continue Reading...

New York State has a Zero Tolerance Law regarding persons under the age of 21 who are caught drinking and driving. It is illegal for a driver under 21 to have consumed any alcohol.


Continue Reading...



The information on this site is not legal advice, it is Attorney Advertising intended to educate potential clients about their need for legal advice and assist them in obtaining a lawyer appropriate for those needs. Use of this site does not create an attorney-client relationship. Every case is different and every person should consult a lawyer to asses their particular case. If you think our firm can assist you please contact us for a consultation. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.